Understand why your WhatsApp security code changes

A very common notification that most users of Whatsapp already received is “Your security code with (contact) has changed, touch to find out more”. However, as common as it is, many people do not know why it appears or how the security code.

Thus, in order to clarify this notification and let you know the subject, we have separated in detail the main information regarding the message sent WhatsApp hair.

Check it out below!

What is the security code?

WhatsApp is the most used messenger around the world and invests in constant technologies to ensure the safety of its users. (Source: Shutterstock/Reproduction)Fonte:  Shutterstock

WhatsApp secures all conversations on your platform with end-to-end encryption. To achieve this, each of the chats opened in your users account has a code shared with the other contact. They are unique and serve to confirm that all shared information is being kept safe — even from the messenger itself.

If you want to verify the code with your friend to confirm the security of the conversation, just click on the profile picture of the person you are chatting with and then select “Encryption”. A page will open a QR Code, which you can scan through the camera of another cell phone or confirm it using the numbers below the image.

According to the official WhatsApp page, both the visible number and the QR Code are not the original security code, but just a visible version for its users, as the original key needs to continue to be kept secret.

Why does the security code change?

Cyber ​​crimes such as phishing are becoming more and more common.  (Shutterstock/Reproduction)Cyber ​​crimes such as phishing are becoming more and more common. (Source: Shutterstock/Reproduction)Fonte:  Shutterstock

The security code can be changed for a variety of reasons. However, it usually changes due to the reinstallation of WhatsApp on the cell phone, or even if there is a change of device for one of the participants in the conversation.

So, to keep the conversation safe, the code is changed and users receive notification notifying them of the change. Thus, given the current reality, where numerous phishing scams are being applied and thousands of people are becoming victims, this tool ends up becoming one more way to protect users.

So an interesting way to ensure you don’t fall for one of these scams is to always be on the lookout for code change notifications you receive — especially when they come with questionable messages from your contacts.

If that happens, it’s important to always try to get in touch with the person you’re sharing the conversation with in another way to find out if that’s the person you’re talking to.

How does the multiple handset option affect this function?

Currently, it is possible to connect simultaneously to WhatsApp through several devices.  (Shutterstock/Reproduction)Currently, it is possible to connect to WhatsApp on several devices simultaneously. (Source: Shutterstock/Reproduction)Fonte:  Shutterstock

Recently, with the availability of the beta version of the application, WhatsApp made it possible for its users to use the messenger on different devices, without the need for the main device to be connected to the internet.

This caused many people to start receiving security messages all the time, as each different device tends to generate a new code for their conversations.

However, WhatsApp announced that it is working on an automatic verification of devices authorized by the user, causing messages related to the web version to stop being sent and to be redirected only in case of device change.

How to disable messages?

Disabling the functionality prevents the user from knowing when the code was changed.  (Shutterstock/Reproduction)Disabling the functionality prevents the user from knowing when the code was changed. (Source: Shutterstock/Reproduction)Fonte:  Shutterstock

Security messages sent by messengers are an important feature to ensure the security of its users. However, many people are uncomfortable receiving them and prefer to opt out of the functionality.

If that’s the case for you, you’ll need to follow a brief step-by-step procedure for deactivation. On the app’s home page, click on the three dots located in the upper right corner and tap “Settings”. Then select “Account” and press “Security” next.

A new page will open explaining how the end-to-end WhatsApp technology works. Scroll to the bottom and make sure the “Show security notifications on this device” feature is turned on. If so, just click on the green button on the right side to turn it grey.

If by chance the option is not activated and you want to make use of this functionality, follow the same procedure, clicking on the gray button for it to gain a green hue.

Did you like the article? Leave your comment below and stay on top of the main news about technology here at TecMundo!

Leave a Comment