The Wheel of Time: Discover the books the Amazon series is based on

Amazon Prime Video debuted, this Friday (19), the fantasy series the wheel of time. The production already has the first 3 chapters available and will gain new episodes every Friday until December 24th.

The new series is an adaptation of a 14-book saga that was released between 1990 and 2013 in the United States. The author of the original story is James Oliver Rigney Jr., an American best known by the pseudonym Robert Jordan. Born on October 17, 1948, in the state of South Carolina, the author died in September 2017 at the age of 58.

The literary franchise is considered one of the most successful of all times, having achieved great public and critical success. And taking advantage of the debut of the Amazon adaptation, the my series prepared a special content for those who want to delve into this universe. Check out, below, facts about the books that serve as raw material for the series the wheel of time.

The universe

Already considered a classic of the genre called high fantasy, which unites elements of epic stories and parallel universes, the wheel of time (A Wheel of Time, in the original) is a franchise that tells about a nameless world that is governed by a timeline with no end and no beginning.

The existence in this universe was conceived by the “Creator”, who created the so-called Wheel of Time that turns using the “Unique Power”, which is a magic obtained from the “True Source”. The source is fed by men (the saidin) and women (the saidar), who are called “channelers” because they manage to manipulate this mystical force.

In this context, the main antagonist is Shai’tan, an evil agent who was released by the Aes Sedai (the main channeling organization of this world) during a period called the “Age of Legends”. With the release of the villain, who wants to dominate the wheel of time and recreating reality in its own image, the struggle between the forces of darkness and light begins.

Centuries after these events, the series begins by telling the life of Rand al’Thor, the main protagonist of the entire story (in the Amazon series, the chosen protagonist was the character Moiraine Damodred). Throughout the 14 books, stories of dozens of different characters and peoples are told, which expand the horizon of the saga and bring an epic tone to the plot.

What is the order of the books of The Wheel of Time?

Robert Jordan planned that the wheel of time it was a saga with 6 books, which ended up not happening because the universe of the franchise grew a lot along the way. The creator was already working on what would be the last book (12th), but ended up dying from heart disease. The fact caused his friend and also writer Brandon Sanderson to be hired to finish the last work.

With the progress of work to finish the 12th book, Sanderson realized that the last work would be too big and decided to divide it into three. With that, the main series ended with no less than 14 books published.

Check out the original names and release date of each book in the main series below.the wheel of time US United States:

  • 1. A Wheel of Time: The Eye of the World (15 de janeiro de 1990);
  • 2. A Wheel of Time: The Great Hunt (15 de novembro de 1990);
  • 3. A Wheel of Time: The Dragon Reborn (15 de outubro de 1991);
  • 4. A Wheel of Time: The Shadow Rising (15 de setembro de 1992);
  • 5. A Wheel of Time: The Fires of Heaven (15 de outubro de 1993);
  • 6. A Wheel of Time: Lords of Chaos (October 15, 1994);
  • 7. A Wheel of Time: A Crown of Swords (15 de maio de 1996);
  • 8. A Wheel of Time: The Path of Daggers (20 de outubro de 1998);
  • 9. A Wheel of Time: Winter’s Heart (7 de novembro de 2000);
  • 10. A Wheel of Time: Crossroads of Twilight (January 7, 2003);
  • 11. A Wheel of Time: Knife of Dreams (11 de outubro de 2005);
  • 12. A Wheel of Time: The Gathering Storm (27 de outubro de 2009);
  • 13. A Wheel of Time: Towers of Midnight (2 de novembro de 2010);
  • 14. A Wheel of Time: A Memory of Light (8 de janeiro de 2013).

Which A Roda do Tempo books are available in Brazil?

With the international success of books d’the wheel of time, the franchise ended up also arriving in Portuguese in Brazil. The work with the work was carried out by the publisher Intrínseca, which translated and sold the first of the books on August 28, 2013 here, when the releases of the main saga had already ended.

the wheel of time

Currently, the country has already received half of the 14 books in the main plot. See below for the official titles and release dates of the books ofthe wheel of time No brazil:

  • 1. The Wheel of Time: The Eye of the World (August 28, 2013);
  • 2. The Wheel of Time: The Great Hunt (May 30, 2014);
  • 3. The Wheel of Time: The Dragon Reborn (October 1, 2014);
  • 4. The Wheel of Time: The Rise of the Shadow (August 30, 2015);
  • 5. The Wheel of Time: The Flames of Heaven (August 20, 2016);
  • 6. The Wheel of Time: The Lord of Chaos (April 18, 2018);
  • 7. The Wheel of Time: A Crown of Swords (October 5, 2021).

Prologues and other adaptations

the universe of the wheel of time is quite rich and compared to the Middle Earth of the Lord of the Rings, by writer JRR Tolkien. Because of this, the franchise received prologue stories (like the book New Spring, released on January 6, 2004) and short stories in anthology format (River of Souls, of 2013, e A Fire Within the Ways, in 2019), for example.

And in addition to works in encyclopedia format, which tell more details about the universe and show maps of the world, the franchise has also expanded to other media such as comic books, video games, music and more recently the Amazon Prime Video series.

the fandom of the wheel of time it’s so big that it even has its own convention, called JordanCon in honor of the story’s creator. It has been held annually in Atlanta, Georgia, since 2019 and only stopped last year because of the coronavirus pandemic.

JordanConJordanCon 2021 had a cosplay event

So, did you know all this information about the wheel of time? Leave your comment in the section below!

Leave a Comment