The order to watch the movies of O Massacre da Serra Elétrica – Culture – Tecnoblog

Extremely popular classic horror franchise, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre was responsible for influencing the entire slasher genre in theaters, creating elements that over the years have become characteristic of this type of film. If you still don’t know the Leatherface universe and intend to marathon your titles in streaming, we will tell you here which platforms they are available on, what is the correct order to watch them and how their timelines work.

The Chainsaw Massacre Part 2 (Image: Press Release / Cannon Releasing)

Independent production work, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre – first film in the franchise of the same name – was released in theaters in 1974, with a cast of unknown actors and a meager budget for the project. With violent scenes that caused a lot of repercussion, it faced problems with its ratings and was even banned in some countries, making its promotion even more difficult.

None of this, however, was enough to stop the film’s success. Over the next few years, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre gained enormous repercussions among critics and audiences, achieving classic film status and making its protagonist, the killer Leatherface, a pop culture figure.

For those unfamiliar with the plot, the title tells the story of two brothers and their friends, who after learning of the vandalism attacks committed in the cemetery where their grandfather is buried, decide to travel to Texas to make sure the tomb is intact. On the way back, however, they come across a family of cannibals on their way, who start hunting them mercilessly and in an extremely violent manner.

With the success of the original film, Tobe Hooper, writer and director of the feature, released a sequel thirteen years later, which also takes place after that same period of time and now follows the uncle of previously murdered young people trying to discover the whereabouts of his nephews .

With at first mixed ratings, but which later turned the film into an acclaimed horror title, the start was given to The Texas Chainsaw Massacre in fact, it became an extensive film franchise, which over time also ended up in comic books and video games.

Release order for The Chainsaw Massacre movies

Even though they don’t share the same timelines, in all, eight films in the series have already been released, while the project for the ninth title is underway. To check these productions in their order of release, that is, as they debuted in theaters, it is necessary to guide yourself by the following sequence:

Film Year Direction
1. The Chainsaw Massacre 1974 Tobe Hooper
2. The Chainsaw Massacre Part 2 1986 Tobe Hooper
3. Leatherface – The Chainsaw Massacre 3 1990 Jeff Burr
4. The Chainsaw Massacre – The ReturnThe 1994 Kim Henkel
5. The Chainsaw Massacre 2003 Marcus Nispel
6. The Chainsaw Massacre: The Beginning 2006 Jonathan Liebesman
7. The 3D Chainsaw Massacre — The Legend Continues 2013 John Luessenhop
8. Massacre no Texas 2017 Alexandre Bustillo e Julien Maury

The different franchise timelines

If, however, you want to watch the movies following their different timelines, which mix remakes, sequels and prequels from the series, you have to marathon them in a different order.

A first original timeline of The Chainsaw Massacre is composed of four films with sequential plots. Are they:

  • The Chainsaw Massacre (1974)
  • The Chainsaw Massacre Part 2 (1986)
  • Leatherface – The Chainsaw Massacre 3 (1990)
  • The Chainsaw Massacre – The Return (1994)

A second timeline of The Chainsaw Massacre consists of two movie reboots that start again from scratch the history of the franchise.

  • The Chainsaw Massacre (2003)
  • The Chainsaw Massacre: The Beginning (2006)

A third timeline of The Chainsaw Massacre is composed of three sequential story films. An interesting thing to note, however, is that one of these films is the The Texas Chainsaw Massacre from 1974. Located in the middle of this new trilogy, it joins a prequel movie to the whole story, which tells the origin of the protagonist Leatherface, and also a sequel, which brings an alternative ending to the story, ignoring the sequences of the first one. timeline.

  • Massacre no Texas (2017)
  • The Chainsaw Massacre (1974)
  • The 3D Chainsaw Massacre — The Legend Continues (2013)

Where to watch movies from the Chainsaw Massacre franchise

The first movie released in the franchise, The Chainsaw Massacre (1974) can be watched on Looke, Netmovies and Oldflix platforms. The second movie from the second timeline, The Chainsaw Massacre: The Beginning (2006), is part of the HBO Max catalogue.

Finally, the prequel to the third timeline, Massacre no Texas (2017) also called Leatherface: The Origin of Evil, can be seen on Telecine and Globoplay. Meanwhile, its alternative ending, The 3D Chainsaw Massacre — The Legend Continues (2013), also just called The Texas Chainsaw Massacre is available on Netflix and Paramount+.

The other films in the series, unfortunately, are currently* not found on any platform.

futures project

Even for those who are fans of the franchise and have marathoned all the titles, we also have good news. A ninth movie in the series, called The Chainsaw Massacre: The Return of Leatherface will debut on February 18, 2022, directly on Netflix.

Directed by David Blue Garcia, he will do a duo with the first movie released, The Chainsaw Massacre (1974), working as a new alternative ending to its story and that disregards all the other features already released.

* The platform catalog was consulted on 01/04/2022.

Leave a Comment