The order of films in the A Nightmare on Elm Street franchise – Culture – Tecnoblog

A horror classic, the movie franchise The nightmare time started in the 1980s and became so popular and profitable that it spawned several other media products, as well as making Freddy Krueger’s name a pop culture icon. For those who want to marathon their titles, but don’t know where to start, below we explain the order and what the A Nightmare on Elm Street movies are about, and we tell you which streaming platforms are available.

The order of films in the A Nightmare on Elm Street franchise / New Line Cinema / Publicity
A Nightmare on Elm Street (Image: Publicity / New Line Cinema)

In total, the franchise The nightmare time had nine movies. Its first seven titles are sequential stories, released in cinema over ten years. Now its eighth production, Freddy vs. Jasonis a crossover with the film franchise Friday 13and his last feature film, The nightmare timeis a reboot of the first film in the saga, from 1984.

Check out the order of films below. The nightmare time – also known as the Freddy Krueger movies – and see which streaming platforms they are available on.

Year Film Direction Streaming platform
1984 The nightmare time Wes Craven HBO Max
1985 A Nightmare on Elm Street 2 – Freddy’s Revenge Jack Sholder HBO Max
1987 A Nightmare on Elm Street 3 – The Dream Warriors Chuck Russell HBO Max
1988 A Nightmare on Elm Street 4 – The Dream Master Renny Harlin HBO Max e NOW
1989 A Nightmare on Elm Street 5 – Freddy’s Greatest Horror Stephen Hopkins HBO Max e NOW
1991 A Nightmare on Elm Street 6 – The Death of Freddy Rachel Talalay HBO Max
1994 Freddy Krueger’s New Nightmare Wes Craven HBO Max
2003 Freddy vs. Jason (crossover) Ronny Yu HBO Max
2010 Nightmare Time (reboot) Samuel Bayer HBO Max e NOW

The Freddy Krueger Story

Directed by Wes Craven, The nightmare time (in English, A Nightmare on Elm Street), was the first film in the franchise to hit theaters, in 1984.

A slasher horror film, its story revolves around a group of teenagers who, while sleeping, are attacked by a man with a dark figure, who has steel claws instead of arms. None other than serial killer Freddy Krueger.

Krueger, who has become one of the most famous villains in pop culture, was a man who, in life, had kidnapped and murdered children, and was captured and burned alive by the residents of Elm Street. At the time of his execution, however, due to the request he made to the dream demon, the criminal was able to transform into a nightmare killer, having the chance to kill teenagers during their troubled nights of sleep.

Having in its cast names like Robert Englund (Freddy Krueger), Heather Langenkamp (Nancy Thompson) and Johnny Depp (Glen Lantz), The nightmare time was a real success with critics and audiences, giving rise to six other sequential titles.

Until 1994, when his original story was closed, Freddy Krueger terrorized the lives of the young people of Elm Street, reaching the point of possessing the body of a teenager, causing dozens of deaths and even transporting himself to the real world, where he chased Heather Langenkamp. , the star of the original 1984 title.

The Nightmare on Elm Street TV series

In addition to its success on the big screen, A Hora do Pesadelo also had its shining moment on TV. Between 1988 and 1990, it was launched A Nightmare on Elm Street – The Terror of Freddy Kruegeran anthology series produced by Gilbert Adler, which ran for 2 seasons of 44 episodes.

The show, hosted by the films’ villain himself – here also played by Robert Englund, who played Freddy Krueger from 1984 to 2003 – showed varied horror stories that had taken place in Springwood, the fictional city in which the franchise was set. The title even portrayed the serial killer’s own crimes and death, shown in the first episode of the series.

In Brazil, the show was broadcast during the 90s by SBT, but is currently not available on any streaming platform.

Leave a Comment