The best order to watch Marvel on Disney + [filmes e séries] | Culture

Disney + has an extensive catalog of superhero movies to watch, all part of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. In addition, there are series and other productions that are not part of this universe. But in which order we should watch the films of Marvel? There are two possibilities: chronological and launch.

Learn the order of Marvel movies on Disney + (Image: Marvel / Disclosure)

Learn the order of Marvel movies on Disney + (Image: Marvel / Disclosure)

The chronological order is very simple to explain: she orders the films according to the times they are set, within the plot. Some are from the 40s. Another in the 90s. There are also more recent ones, during the 2000s.

The release order is basically following what Marvel and its partners have launched over the years, from the first Iron Man in 2008 to Avengers: Endgame, 2019.

Marvel: Release Order

The launches from Marvel and Marvel Studios are divided into phases, for now three.

Check out which ones are already in the right order to watch:

Phase 1

  • Iron Man (2008)
  • Iron Man 2 (2010)
  • Thor (2011)
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  • The Avengers (2012)

Level 2

  • Iron Man 3 (2013)
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  • Captain America: Winter Soldier (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  • Ant-Man (2015)

Phase 3

  • Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  • Doctor Strange (2016)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)
  • Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  • Black Panther (2018)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
  • Ant-Man and the Wasp (2018)
  • Captain Marvel (2019)
  • Avengers: Endgame (2019)

Despite being part of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, films The Incredible Hulk (2008), Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017) and Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019) are not available on Disney + as they have production rights shared with other studios – Universal and Sony.

Marvel: chronological order

If you want to see the films in an order where the facts fit chronologically, you should follow the list below.

The list is with the year in which the story takes place in parentheses:

  1. Captain America: The First Avenger (1942)
  2. Captain Marvel (1995)
  3. Iron Man (2010)
  4. Iron Man 2 (2011)
  5. Thor (2011)
  6. The Avengers (2012)
  7. Iron Man 3 (2012)
  8. Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  9. Captain America: Winter Soldier (2014)
  10. Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  11. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2014)
  12. Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  13. Ant-Man (2015)
  14. Captain America Civil War (2016)
  15. Doctor Strange (Between 2016 and 2017)
  16. Black Panther (2017)
  17. Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  18. Ant-Man and the Wasp (2017)
  19. Avengers: Infinity War (2017)
  20. Avengers: Endgame (Between 2018 and 2023)

And the series?

The answer is complicated.

Today, unofficially, none of the series released in partnership with Marvel Studios is part of the official timeline of the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

Disney + has some of them in the catalog, such as Fugitives, Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and Agent Carter.

Although Marvel has always said that “it’s all connected”, it’s not really. These series are linked in some aspects. S.H.I.E.L.D. agents, for example, mention characters from the films and even count on the participation of some of them, such as Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson) and Phil Coulson himself (Clark Gregg).

S.H.I.E.L.D. agents is one of the Marvel series (Image: Marvel / Disclosure)

S.H.I.E.L.D. agents is one of the Marvel series (Image: Marvel / Disclosure)

However, Marvel Studio preferred to keep these connections discreet. So much so that their characters did not appear or were mentioned in the films, as well as Daredevil, Jessica Jones and others that were released on Netflix.

For the near future, that should change. Marvel Studios will launch its own series productions, which are completely connected to the films, starring some of its main characters, from past productions.

Future productions include:

  • WandaVision (January 2021)
  • The Falcon and the Winter Soldier (2021)
  • Loki (No date yet)
  • Hulk Woman (No date yet)
  • Ms. Marvel (undated)

We still don’t know exactly in which chronological order these series will be inserted in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, something that we will only discover after their respective releases.

Other existing productions, such as films from X-Men, are not part of the Marvel Cinematic Universe in any respect.

Leave a Comment