Spirit Award 2021: Bacurau is among the nominees at the awards

Bacurau, by Kleber Mendonça Filho and Juliano Dornelles, is competing for the category of Best International Film at the 2021 Spirit Award. Although previous editions of the ceremony so far have been marked by independent productions and less known to the general public, it is expected that this year it will serve as a “thermometer” for Oscars, the result of the absence of large blockbusters in the cinema due to the pandemic.

In this way, titles with lower budgets than the popular ones at the big box offices drew critical attention and gained more repercussion in the industry news outlets. In addition to bringing more unusual categories that value emerging talent, the 2021 edition of the Spirit Award is marked by greater diversity and inclusion in their nominations.

It is also worth pointing out that this year, the ceremony will bring TV content for the first time, by creating categories to award series and documentaries. The winners will be announced on April 22; see below the complete list of nominees:

Best movie

NomadlandNomadlandSource: IMDb / Reproduction

First Cow

The Supreme Voice of the Blues


Never, Rarely, Sometimes, Always


Best debut film

I Carry You With Me

The Forty-Year-Old Version

Miss Juneteenth

Nine Days

The sound of silence

Best Direction

Lee Isaac Chung (Minari)

Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman)

Eliza Hittman (Never, Rarely, Sometimes, Always)

Kelly Reichardt (First Cow)

Chloé Zhao (Nomadland)

Best screenplay

MinariMinariSource: IMDb / Reproduction

Lee Isaac Chung (Minari)

Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman)

Eliza Hittman (Never, Rarely, Sometimes, Always)

Mike Makowsky (Bad Education)

Alice Wu (You can’t imagine)

Best debut script

Kitty Green (The Assistant)

Noah Hutton (Lapsis)

Channing Godfrey Peoples (Miss Juneteenth)

Andy Siara (Palm Springs)

James Sweeney (Straight Up)

Best cinematography

Jay Keitel (She Dies Tomorrow)

Shabier Kirchner (Bull)

Michael Latham (The Assistant)

Hélène Louvart (Never, Rarely, Sometimes, Always)

Joshua James Richards (Nomadland)

Best edition

Andy Canny (The invisible man)

Scott Cummings (Never, Rarely, Sometimes, Always)

Merawi Gerima (Residue)

Enat Sidi (I Carry You With Me)

Chloé Zhao (Nomadland)

Best actress

Frances McDormand in NomadlandFrances McDormand in NomadlandSource: IMDb / Reproduction

Nicole Beharie (Miss Juneteenth)

Viola Davis (The Supreme Voice of the Blues)

Sidney Flanigan (Never, Rarely, Sometimes, Always)

Julia Garner (The Assistant)

Frances McDormand (Nomadland)

Carey Mulligan (Promising Young Woman)

Best supporting actress

Alexis Chikaeze (Miss Juneteenth)

Yeri Han (Minari)

Valerie Mahaffey (French Exit)

Talia Ryder (Never, Rarely, Sometimes, Always)

Yuh-jung Youn (Minari)

Best actor

Riz Ahmed in The Sound of SilenceRiz Ahmed in The Sound of SilenceSource: IMDb / Reproduction

Riz Ahmed (The sound of silence)

Chadwick Boseman (The Supreme Voice of the Blues)

Adarsh ​​Gourav (The White Tiger)

Rob Morgan (Bull)

Steven Yeun (Minari)

Best supporting actor

Colman Domingo (The Supreme Voice of the Blues)

Orion Lee (First Cow)

Paul Raci (The sound of silence)

Glynn Turman (The Supreme Voice of the Blues)

Benedict Wong (Nine Days)

Best documentary


Crip Camp: Revolution for Inclusion

The Deaths of Dick Johnson

The Mole Agent


Best international film

BacurauBacurauSource: IMDb / Reproduction

Bacurau (Brazil)

The Disciple (India)

Night of the Kings (Costa do Marfim)

Preparations to be Together for an Unknown Period of Time (Hungary)

Quo Vadis, Aida? (Bosnia and Herzegovina)

John Cassavetes Award

Awarded for the best film with a budget of less than US $ 500 thousand

The Killing of Two Lovers

La Leyenda Negra

Lingua Franca


Saint Frances

Producers Award

It honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources, demonstrate the creativity, tenacity and vision necessary to produce quality independent films.

Kara Durrett

Lucas Joaquin

Gerry Kim

Someone to Watch Award

Identifies a talented filmmaker with a singular vision who has not yet received adequate recognition

David Midell (The Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain)

Ekwa Msangi (Farewell Love)

Annie Silverstein (Bull)

Truer Than Fiction Award

Presented to an emerging director of nonfiction resources who has not yet received significant recognition

Cecilia Aldarondo (Landfall)

Elegance Bratton (Pier Kids)

Elizabeth Lo (Stray)

Best new series

I May Destroy YouI May Destroy YouSource: IMDb / Reproduction

I May Destroy You

Little America

Small Ax

The Teacher

Nothing Orthodox

Best actress in new series

Elle Fanning (The Great)

Shira Haas (Nothing Orthodox)

Abby McEnany (Work in Progress)

Maitreyi Ramakrishnan (I never…)

Jordan Kristine Seamón (We Are Who We Are)

Best Actor in a New Series

Conphidance (Little America)

Adam Ali (Little America)

Nicco Annan (P-Valley)

Amit Rahav (Nothing Orthodox)

Harold Torres (Zero, Zero, Zero)

Best new non-scripted or documentary series

Atlanta’s Missing and Murdered: The Lost Children

City So Real

Immigration Nation

Love Fraud

We’re Here

Leave a Comment