Inactive Google Account Manager: Understand How It Works

Adopting security measures to protect your information online has become a concern that is raising many discussions these days. With the frequency of cybercriminal leaks and intrusions, Google has developed tools to make its users’ internet experience safer.

The company has several mechanisms to guarantee the privacy of people, including those who had their accounts inactive but who are still targets of hackers. Through the Inactive Account Manager, it is possible to preserve personal information and prevent these accounts from being used for attacks.

(Source: Unsplash/Reproduction)Source: Unsplash

The tool aims to offer a solution for inactive or abandoned accounts, due to death or any other reason that has disabled the user, and can be accessed at this link. In this article, TecMundo will explain how the Manager works and how it can be used to protect information, accounts, media and other personal files, check it out;

How does it work

Inactive Account Manager is responsible for planning what will happen to your data if you can no longer use your Google Account. It is possible to define when the platform will be able to consider your account inactive and indicate what will be done with your data after that, for example, share it with someone you trust or request a permanent deletion.

(Source: Unsplash/Reproduction)(Source: Unsplash/Reproduction)Source: Unsplash

When configuring the feature, Google asks the user to choose the period between 3, 6, 12 or 18 months without any activity, for the company to take some action on the data. In this way, a notice will be sent one month in advance of the established deadline, via a text message and an email to the contacts provided during registration.

It’s still possible to leave an autoresponder in Gmail for the person who will receive the information, as well as a message explaining that that account is inactive. In cases where the user has wanted the account to be deleted, as soon as Google identifies that it is inactive, the content will be forwarded to trusted contacts.

sharing data

The user can choose up to 10 people who will be contacted by Google to notify about the deletion of the account or to receive access to part of their data. The list can include media, contacts, emails, documents, among other specific information that the user has decided to share. The chosen contacts will have up to 3 months to download the information which, after this period, will be deleted.

Templates of messages that will be sent to the chosen contacts (Source: Google/Reproduction)Templates of messages that will be sent to the chosen contacts (Source: Google/Reproduction)Source: Google

By deleting the Google account, all publicly shared data will also be deleted, including YouTube videos, blogs on the Blogger platform and the Gmail account — which will lose the username. Through the Google Dashboard, you can check which data is associated with this account.

Cybersecurity

A recent attack on T-Mobile, the US telephone operator, had the data of 47 million users stolen and leaked. Inactive accounts were accessed through old billing articles, posing a security risk to the company’s customers.

In this way, setting up the dormant account plan is a simple but essential measure to protect your data. In addition to ensuring that a person’s digital legacy is shared with trusted contacts, when the user can no longer access their account.

In this Cybersecurity Awareness month, check out how to protect yourself from hacker attacks on home networks, how to protect your notebook from cyber threats, and how to avoid exposing your data to fraud while shopping on Black Friday.

Leave a Comment