Arches of The Knights of the Zodiac: from best to worst (ranking)

The Knights of the Zodiac is more than one of the most famous manga in history: it is one of the most popular anime, with many different adaptations and sagas. The characters created by Masami Kurumada over 35 years ago were originally divided into 28 volumes, with approximately 200 pages each.

Consisting of four “original” sagas (Sanctuary, Blue Warriors, Poseidon and Hades), its long-lasting success led to films and other series being developed. To put this amount of productions in order, we are going to rank the titles from worst to best, with the quality of the scripts being the preponderant characteristic for this.

We’ve prepared this list with the 8 essential sagas that are definitely worth checking out if you want to dive into the fantastic universe of bows of You Knights of the Zodiac. Check out our recommendations!

8. Sanctuary – The Silver Knights (1987)

(Source: Hero X)(Source: Hero X)Source: Hero X

Anyone who knows the franchise knows that there is a hierarchy between the Knights of the Zodiac. At the bottom of the “pyramid” are the Bronze Saints; then comes the Silver Knights, who have higher levels of fighting skills and 24 types of armor; finally, the mighty Gold Saints.

In this, the third arc of the franchise, the Silver Saints are sent to punish the Bronze Saints, as they betrayed Sanctuary when they started to defend their private interests. Thus, a battle between the Bronze and Silver Saints begins to be fought, generating many emotions in the fans.

7. Galactic War (1986)

(Source: Hero X)(Source: Hero X)Source: Hero X

galactic war is, without a doubt, among the most beloved of the fans (a curiosity: it was the first to be shown by the extinct Manchete network, which popularized the Knights of the Zodiac No brazil).

In this saga, we know the story of Seiya and his friends, who were summoned to serve and defend a girl named Saori Kido, who is actually a reincarnation of the goddess Athena.

A great tournament is then formed, in which the winner will wear the golden armor of Sagittarius. In this special arc, we also meet some important characters from the plot, such as Seiya from Pegasus, Shiryui from Dragon and Hyoga from Swan.

6. Battle of Asgard (1988 – 1989)

(Source: Guariento Portal)(Source: Guariento Portal)Source: Guariento Portal

A Battle of Asgard takes the universe from The Knights of the Zodiac to a land covered in snow and ice situated in northern Europe. There, a girl known as Hilda of Polaris appears as a representative of Odin, the Norse god. She prays to preserve the land, but a mysterious voice appears and asks her to destroy the Sanctuary.

Until then, all ok. The problem begins when Poseidon, who is a god in Greek mythology as important as Athena, begins to control Hilda and Odin and declares war against Seiya.

5. Poseidon Saga (1988 – 1989)

(Source: Hey Nerd)(Source: Hey Nerd)Source: Hey Nerd

Known to be the smallest phase of this anime (there are 15 episodes in total), Poseidon Saga it’s completely based on the penultimate saga of the manga. It addresses the descent into the kingdom of the seas, where Poseidon, the god responsible for this territory, would be fought.

The first scenes show tidal waves, storms and marine eddies, ravaging Japan, France, the United States and some other European regions. The result is a global crisis that shakes every continent.

While fans don’t usually report this season among their favorites, Poseidon Saga deserves to be highlighted here for the different aspects it brings. In most of the bows of The Knights of the Zodiaccombat involves only the Knights themselves, but here humans also pay for the heroes’ conflicts.

That is, the Knights of the Zodiac need to save not just Athena, but the whole world. And that makes this saga, to say the least, quite interesting.

4. Hell – Hades Saga (2005 – 2007)

(Source: Cav Zodiac)(Source: Cav Zodiac)Source: Cav Zodiac

Hell – Hades Saga begins when Shaka’s intentions are finally clarified, which were put on hold at the end of the first part of the Hades saga.

The plot is as follows: after the fall, Seiya and Shun wake up and are in front of the portal of hell. They then need to face Hades, which they do with the help of Kanon and Orpheus of Lyra (a silver knight who had disowned Athena, Seiya and Shun).

The animation quality is perhaps not the best among all the sagas. Even so, Hell – Hades Saga brings some revelations about issues from the previous sagas, as well as providing an interesting sequel to Seyia’s journey in The Knights of the Zodiac.

3. The Black Knights – Sanctuary Saga (1986 – 1987)

(Source: Hero X)(Source: Hero X)Source: Hero X

The Black Knights are an identical copy of the main Bronze Saints, who, in this arc, compete for Sagittarius’ golden armor. Before anyone can receive the prize, the Black Knights steal the armor and flee.

to saga two black knights allows a first contact for fans with the great enemy Ikki of Phoenix – who would later become a hero and a much loved character of the franchise.

2. Battle of the Twelve Houses – Sanctuary Saga (1987 – 1988)

(Source: IGN Brazil)(Source: IGN Brazil)Source: IGN Brazil

For many people, the Battle of the Twelve Houses is the most memorable moment of The Knights of the Zodiac. In this saga, the heroes Seiya, Shiryu, Hyoga and Shun must go through the Twelve Houses of the Gold Saints to save Athena, who was hit by a poisoned arrow.

In addition, this arc features exciting battles and scenes, especially those involving the sacrifice of the Bronze Saints. Here we also meet the powerful Gold Saints who, when corrupted, become Seiya’s main rivals and friends.

1. Sanctuary – Hades Saga (2002 – 2003)

(Source: IGN Brazil)(Source: IGN Brazil)Source: IGN Brazil

Get ready for a very exciting start to the arc during the Hades saga. In this bow of Knights of the Zodiac, the king of the underworld, Hades, resurrects specters to attack Athena and try to take over the world. The Silver and Gold Saints still help him when they send an army that must invade the Sanctuary of Athena.

Another important element of saga of hades is that we finally get to see Aries Mu in action, and we can analyze the power of the Gold Saints when they face each other. This is an arc with a well-developed plot, high quality animation, and very inspired openings and endings. No wonder, it is one of the favorites of fans of the saga.

Leave a Comment