Google has modified two rules within the operating system itself to allow the resolution of two problems in Google Photos on these devices: screenshots will no longer be automatically sent to the cloud and images can be deleted without the user being asked if the action can continue, or not.
The first change affects some devices, when the entire Android phone market is taken into account. Currently smartphones from companies like Samsung, Oppo, Realme and Xiaomi do not follow a standard of Google’s mobile operating system and store screen shots in the DCIM folder.
This directory should be the destination only for photos and videos recorded by the cell phone’s camera, leaving the screenshots in a separate folder, called Pictures – the rule applies both to internal memory and to the microSD card. The problem with putting everything inside DCIM is that apps like Google Photos, Dropbox, OneDrive and others use this address to find and back up the image gallery.
There is no native way to filter the file for upload, so if a screenshot stays there it will also be in the cloud – taking up space and messing up the place.
Android 12 forces photos and videos into exclusive folder
In Android 12 this should change, as Google added a new rule within a document used by the operating system to certify a device and thus deliver the company’s services within it, such as Google Play, YouTube, Google Maps and many others.
“If a device has a screenshot function implemented, including activation via hardware or software, it NEEDS to save the generated image or video in a directory called“ Screenshots ”that is automatically created inside the“ Pictures ”folder in the internal memory, or in SD card, ”says the rule.
“Screenshots in photos or videos CANNOT be saved in the DCIM folder, Pictures Videos or another customized directory”, he adds.
This movement can force the pattern to the folder where the photos and videos recorded on an Android are, separating all the content of a screen capture or recording from the display. Basically all backup applications like Google Photos itself, or others like Dropbox, Google Drive and OneDrive can receive instructions from the user about a new folder for backup, in case the person is really interested in saving this content.
Google Photos will not ask you if you can delete photos
The second rule changed by Google within Android 12 also affects Google Photos, since as of this update the search giant’s mobile operating system will not ask if it can delete a photo, at least within the backup application.
If you have a phone with Android 11 and use Google Photos to store in the cloud or just organize the photos yourself, you will find a window asking for authorization to delete a file from the device. This happens every time the action to delete is taken, even accepting the previous one.
As of Android 12, a new API will allow applications such as Google Photos to ask only once if they can change the device’s files. With that, a photo deleted after this acceptance will be deleted without the need for another permission.
As this novelty involves a new API, the backup application needs to be updated and using the new instruction to avoid asking if you can delete a photo with each action to delete the file. Android 12 is still in the initial testing phase, so devices will still take months to receive the update, with developers gaining time to implement the new feature.
With information: XDA Developers (1 and 2)